Why I Know I’m Meant to be a Writer

1.) I keep a daily journal. I don’t know many people my age who are able to do that. I write no matter what, even if it’s 3am and I just finished a huge paper. I’ve been writing daily since about the 5th grade. I’ve filled up about 30 journals, that’s a lot of pages and a lot of ink.

2.) I love blank notebooks. There are few thinks more beautiful than blank pages waiting to be filled. And I love a good pen too. My favorite pen right now is the Pilot Precise V5 Rolling Ball Extra Fine pen in purple, for any of you pen lovers out there. =)

3.) When I’m stressed I write. Some people drink, some smoke, some punch walls, who knows what else people do when they need an outlet. I don’t tell people how I feel, but my journal knows EVERYTHING.

4.) I’m not much of a talker. When I went to middle school my shyness started getting worse and in high school it kind of got out of control, and I’ve just recently reined it in a bit. It really sucks going through a full day of school without saying more than 10 words and I made up for it by driving my family crazy chatting and by writing like crazy. Even though I’m no longer the girl who everyone thinks is a mute, I still turn to writing like most people turn to a friend.

5.) I’ve loved every English class I’ve ever taken. I’ve never had a problem with school (except 6th grade, but that’s a long story) but English has always been my favorite. I still complain about writing papers and reading books, but I’ve always felt proud when I finish a paper. I’ve actually really enjoyed my high school research papers on Puppy Mills, Animal Rights, and Juliette Low. I love learning new things and writing about them.

I know that I’m not an amazing writer, but it’s what I love to do. I plan on writing for the rest of my life. I hope that I can someday make a living from doing wha I love, but even if I never make a penny I’ll keep writing.

Leave a Reply

