Keep it to Yourself!

            Has anyone ever been talking to you and then they say something that begins with “I know I’m going to sound like a total bitch for saying this, but…” And after they say it you feel like it wasn’t that big of a deal, but then like an hour later you are thinking “What a bitch!”

            That’s where I am right now. I was talking to a friend about the fact that I was thinking about becoming a minor in pre-law and maybe pursuing a career as a lawyer. Well she gives me that line and says she thinks I wouldn’t make a good lawyer because I’m too empathetic. And then, because I really wanted to embarrass myself, I asked her what that meant (because I confuse empathetic with apathetic, which is hard to admit because I’m an English major!). Well, apparently she thinks I don’t care about anything. I just brushed this off at first, but now I’m sitting in my room and I’m a bit peeved. I don’t care about anything!?! That is one of the most absurd things I’ve ever heard!

            Honestly, it hurts my feelings that she would even think that. I’ve only known her for a year, but I think that should be long enough to know that there are actually a lot of things that I am very passionate about. Although, as I learned from watching Legally Blonde, some philosopher (Aristotle?) said something like “law is reason free from passion”. There are many things that I care about, but I think that it is important to see all sides of an argument. Sometimes this may result in me seeming wishy-washy, but I don’t think of that as a bad thing. When you are too passionate about something you may have a hard time looking at all of the evidence objectively.

            Anyway, I still don’t know what I want to pursue (other than writing of course!) and I don’t know if law is something that I really want to spend my time on. But I think I learned something tonight, no one will ever know me as well as I know myself. And to be perfectly honest, I’m not trying to brag, but I think I would make a good lawyer. The reason I’m on the fence about it is that I only want to do it if I know that’s what I want to spend my life doing, and I can’t make that decision right now. But next time someone tells me that what they are about to say is going to sound bitchy I might just tell them to keep it to themselves!

Leave a Reply

