3 Semesters Down, 5 To Go

            I’ve just finished my fall semester of my sophomore year! I still can’t believe how fast time passes in college. Maybe it’s because the real world is getting so close. In just a few years I will be getting a full-time job, working toward my future career path, maybe I’ll be renting an apartment in a city, maybe I’ll have a dog; the possibilities are endless. Life is moving too fast. I can’t imagine myself anywhere but right here in my cozy dorm room… but then again, a few years ago I couldn’t image myself anywhere other than my small town.

            I always said I’d make it to college one way or another, but deep inside I wasn’t sure I’d ever get out of my dream-crushing high school and town full of people who know me a little too well. Even as I accepted my college’s offer, even as I signed the financial aid papers, even as I shopped for dorm supplies and packed to move out I couldn’t imagine myself in college. It wasn’t until I spent my first night in my new dorm-room bed that it all felt real. And even then, when I woke the next morning I was surprised not to be in my familiar bedroom.

            Every time I’m having a negative thought about a professor or stressing about a group project I remind myself how lucky I am to be here. Other kids dream of being an astronauts or a doctor, but my biggest dream was to get out of town, go to a college, and live in the dorms. And now I’m living my dream. Sometimes it still feels unreal.

            Now I’ve finished my third semester; it was my toughest yet, but I still can’t believe that I’m only one more semester away from the halfway mark. My experience here so far hasn’t been perfect, but it’s been more than I ever really believed I’d have. I’m so excited for the next two and half years, and ready to make it the best I possibly can. I’m not always a positive person, but in the new year (and new semester) I plan on working on that and working on taking more initiative in my life to get exactly what I want, because I’m finally realizing that dreams can come true.

Leave a Reply

