Happy (Belated) Valentine’s Day To All The Dreamers Out There

            I’m about a half hour late, but happy Valentine’s Day! Honestly, I was really tempted to title this “Crappy Valentine’s Day!” But I’m really trying to be less of a negative-nancy this year. I’ve never had a good Valentine’s day – well last year my mom did give me chocolates, so that was pretty cool – or at least not one which didn’t disappoint me. And I can’t really say that this year was any different. No matter how much I hate this blasted “holiday” (if that’s what you want to call it) I always keep on dreaming. I may be a pessimist (more like a realist in my opinion!), but in the back of my mind I’m always waiting for a happy ending.

            No matter how many times I tell myself I’m going to become a lonely old maid, I still have a vision in my head of a beautiful white wedding and a little house with a white picket fence and growing old together with my one and only love. No matter how many times I am disappointed I always allow myself to dream of things going just right.

            So, maybe this Valentine’s Day was like every other one I’ve experienced. Nevertheless, I’m going to keep dreaming of my knight in shining armor (currently: a cute guy with strawberry blond curls and blue eyes who I met last semester) and hoping that one day (in the near future please!) he’ll take a chance on that shy girl who always smiles at him (me!!) and we’ll ride off walk into the sunset  and, not necessarily live happily ever after, but have a great time together.

            For all you single ladies (and guys!) out there, keep on dreaming. It may be hard sometimes when nothing seems to go your way, but maybe someday we’ll get our happy endings beginnings too.

Leave a Reply

