You and I -or- You and Me: A Quick Grammar Lesson

            One of the most annoying grammar mistakes people make is confusing when to use “I” and when to use “me”. I’ll admit, I don’t have perfect grammar and I make mistakes all the time, but this is one particular mistake I see way too often. I can see why it happens because I can remember teachers in elementary and middle school saying “it’s ‘you and I’ not ‘you and me’”, but this isn’t always the case. Here’s how to know which one to use:

            Take the other person or people out (the “you”) and read the sentence, does it make sense with an “I” or a “me”. It’s really that simple. Here are two examples:

                 (1) Grandma told Cindy and me to go to the mall.

                        Grandma told Cindy and me to go to the mall.

                (2) Bob and I do not like peanuts.

                        Bob and I do not like peanuts.

Leave a Reply

