One Year of Blogging

            I started blogging March 27, 2010. One year ago from yesterday. Darn, I missed the one year mark by a day! This will be my 98th blog post (again, darn, 100 would have been a nice round number). Among those posts there are a few I probably shouldn’t have posted, a few that reveal things that I’m not proud of (my Facebook stalking habit, for instance), a few that reveal my innermost thoughts and dreams. At times I’ve been startled by my honesty; and honestly, I will never give out my blog info to anyone I know unless I delete a significant number of posts. Even so, I don’t regret a single post (well, not that I can think of at the moment).

            I know that everything I write isn’t great, or even decent, and I know that much of what I post may never be read or appreciated. But I am still exceedingly happy that I made a choice one year (plus one day) ago to put the creations of my hobby and my passion on the World Wide Web. Not only do I choose to spend more of my free time writing, but I’m also getting more used to sharing my work with actual living, breathing humans other than my mother. It can be scary to put yourself out there and say “This is what I love to do. I think I’m pretty good at it, what do you think?” It reminds me of a class I had last semester in which the teacher asked us to share something we are good at. For a few minutes we all just stared at each other trying to figure out what to say without sounding like we’re bragging. I was dreading my turn to share, and when it came I shyly said, “Well, I guess I’m good at writing”. This semester I’ve finally had the courage to share some of my work with a few of my fellow English major friends and my roommate (an environmental science major). I cannot say for certain that I would have had that courage if I hadn’t been anonymously posting to this blog for several months.

            Not to sound horribly cheesy, but I’m just a girl (ok, technically an adult in the eyes of the government) with a dream. I’ve been doing a great deal of research on how to become a writer. And the one piece of advice I have come across over and over again is to read and write A LOT. This blog has certainly helped me with writing more, and even with reading more. I have found so many amazing blogs with book reviews (I love reading blogs about books, it just one more secret hobby to put into my secret hobby box), fictional stories, and people simply blogging about their lives. My roommate and family cannot understand why I love reading what others’ write about their life. But there is so much that you can learn about a person from reading their blog. It doesn’t matter if a person is halfway across the world or within a few miles; everyone seems to have something interesting to say. So, along with everything else, learning about other people might be the greatest benefit I’ve received from blogging.

            I’m excited for another year of writing, reading, learning, sharing, and improving. Thank you to anyone who is reading this (admittedly not my most exciting blog post) and anyone who has ever read any of my posts.

Leave a Reply

