A Goal & Feeling Homesick

Post Every Day in October

            In preparation for NaNoWriMo next month, I’ve decided to take WordPress’ advice and attempt to post every day in October. You may notice that I have been posting very sporadically for the past five months, and I think this will be a good way for me to jump back into it. So this month my posts may be shorter than in the past and more random, but it’s probably better to have thirty short posts than one long post. Besides, I’m not sure anyone wants to read my three page rants on school and family and everything else. So, here goes: October 1.

 

Homesick

            Who hasn’t been homesick at some point in their life? Certainly not me. And sometimes we don’t even realize how homesick we are until we’re back home.

            When I was about 11 years old I left home for five days to go to Girl Scout camp. It was my first time ever being away from my family for more than one night, and it felt like a month rather than just a few days. I knew I missed home a little, but when I got off the bus after camp and my mom gave me a hug I just started crying. It didn’t hit me until then, when everything was over, how badly I missed my boring life.

            Nine years later I’m in my third year of college and used to being away from home. But even today, when my parents surprised me and showed up to take me to lunch, I got choked up when they left. It reminds me of my first day of college, when my mom and dad helped me unload my stuff and then left me alone in my stark dorm room to drive home. I watched them walk down the hall and kept staring even after they’d turned to go down the stairs. I couldn’t believe they were actually gone. And when I drove home for the first time, after being away for a record three weeks, I cried when I reached the top of the summit and saw our glorious lake. I’d never really appreciated its full beauty until that moment. I guess that’s the way it works in life, you never see all of the wonderful things in your life until you’ve seen your life without them.

Leave a Reply

