Why am I Still Single?

I’m still currently buried in homework, but that light at the end of the tunnel is so close now. Unfortunately, I really don’t have the time or energy to write a blog post (I had a long, rough day after just three hours of sleep). So I’m going to give you a something I wrote back in August, but forgot to post. I guess I’m still asking the same question now that I was asking myself that night, but now I’ve pretty much given up on trying to get a boyfriend so I can focus on myself (yah right, we’ll see how long that lasts!). So here it is:

            I have some issues, I’ll be the first to admit to that. But I find myself asking the same question on a daily basis: Why the hell can’t I get a boyfriend?

            I’m twenty years old and have never been on a date, been kissed, been in a relationship, and I have only ever been asked out once – when I was in eighth grade and the creepeist guy in class asked me to a dance (rumor is, he’d already been rejected by a dozen other girls). I said no, or course. So, I have basically zero experience with guys. I feel like this should only be the fate of someone who is truly hideous or absolutely horrible to be around.  But I’m not THAT bad. Besides, my best friend has an equally short list of experience (and she’s tall and thin!). So I know that I’m not alone in my awful luck with boys.

            But I really think that there must be a reason why I’ve been unable to snag a boyfriend, even though at this point I would probably go out with a paper bag if it was capable of asking me. I’m sure that my social awkwardness and crippling shyness has something to do with it. But I’ve really improved on my social skills in the past three years, and I’m fairly normal now.

            I came across a book today, about astrology and how your birthdate dictates your personality. Now, I don’t really believe in that junk, but by coincidence the book said that people with my birthday typically have problems with relationships because we have trouble really opening up and getting close to people. I think that is a pretty good description of me. I think this is probably a leading reason for my constant singleness. Not that there’s anything I can do about it, but I guess it’s good to know.

            The only reason I started thinking about this again was because I was Facebook stalking a guy I had a huge crush on all though highschool … and middle school… and part of elementary school. And I saw something that his girlfriend had posted on his wall: “Miss you babe! Can’t wait to see you!” and it made me gag. Yep, I’m THAT immature. But I can’t imagine ever saying that to someone, let alone posting it for the whole world to see and roll their eyes at.

            Seriously though, “babe”? Ew.

Leave a Reply

