Awkward Friend Situation

            I was trying to think of something to blog about that wouldn’t be about school, like every other post I write. But then I realized that school is my life. I can’t rant about work, or my love life, or friend drama… well, actually! Maybe I do have something to blog about after all! I seriously just thought of this, and it’s not really friend drama, but it could become friend drama.

            So, I have this guy friend, we’ll call him Devon. He’s pretty much the only guy friend I have. The thing with Devon is that he compliments everyone, and he does it all the time. He is constantly telling me I look nice, or he likes my dress, or my shoes are cool, etc. And I can’t tell if he is hitting on me or not. The compliments alone would not bring me to believe he is hitting on me, but he also says other things that make me nervous. The most surprising was when my group of friends started watching a horror movie the other night and he said to me “it’s pretty scary, you might need someone to hold your hand.” WTF!

            I guess I should tell you that I do NOT have any feelings toward Devon except for friendship. And I can say with almost certainty that I will never like him like that. I’m typically pretty open to guys (not that it gets me anywhere – I’m still alarmingly single), but Devon is just not my type. This is all besides the fact that I am friends with his ex-girlfriend. We are all in one big group of friends.

            Chances are pretty good that Devon doesn’t like me in any special way. But he’s making me a bit uncomfortable because I can’t read him, and I don’t want my friends to think that I’m going after him just because he talks to me all the time and I talk back. I’m probably just being silly and paranoid, but I just wish he could either get a girlfriend or stop complimenting me.

2 thoughts on “Awkward Friend Situation

  1. Friends are the strangest creatures. Some of them are clear crystal and some other darker than a glass of hot, sweet chocolate. So, what has to be done? Nothing.
    Get someone bored for trying is the easiest thing to do.

Leave a Reply

