3 Years Ago…

            On October 27, 2008 my brother’s best friend passed away at the age of 18. I’m not going to write about his disease or how unfair it seems that he was taken at such a young age. I just want to briefly tell you how strong he was.

            He was the strongest person I’ve ever known. It doesn’t matter that his bones were weak and his spine was curved. He probably looked like an eighty year old man from afar. He had to use a wheelchair more and more as he got older and near the end he had to start using oxygen. But he was so strong. Stronger than any athlete or body builder could ever be.

            Even though he had come startlingly close to death at least twice that I can remember, I never expected him to die. It was a shock. No matter how strong he was he just couldn’t fight it any longer.

            Whenever I’m struggling or thinking that I have it hard, I remember him and how strong he was. If that sort of strength is capable in someone who has had to struggle every moment in his life, I can summon enough strength to get through whatever I need to get through. Humans are capable of getting through anything – that is what he has taught me. Real strength is not about being tough or untouchable; it’s about fighting whatever it is you need to fight with everything you’ve got.

Leave a Reply

