The Hassle and Joy of Halloween

            First off: Happy Halloween!!!! Second: does anyone else think this holiday is a hassle? I spent hours and hours in stores looking for a decent and affordable costume. Unfortunately I had to bend on one of these criteria – is there such a thing as an affordable Halloween costume? I’ve never really put much effort into my costume before. I usually just throw something together, but I typically end up looking messy and dorky. For once in my life I wanted to do the stereotypical girl thing and try to sex-ify Halloween. So I bought a very short, tight flapper-style dress and went with that. I was not actually aiming to get a short, tight dress, it just happened. If I’d tried the outfit on before leaving the store I would have gone up a size or chosen something more conservative. But I’m pretty glad I didn’t, because I got some satisfying glances from members of the opposite sex.

            I actually turned out having a fairly good Halloween – not actually on Halloween of course, but on Saturday night. I’m in the pep band, so I went to our volleyball game in my outfit. Lucky for me I happen to have a thing for guys who can play instruments – trombones in particular, I have no idea why – so I got to finally step out of my frumpy, oversized uniform and show off something other than my less-than-stellar clarinet skills. Then my best friend and I attempted, and failed, to go to a dance. How do you fail at such a thing? Well, too many people wanted to go and the room was at capacity, so they couldn’t let everybody else in. But we went, we showed our faces in public, and we even hung out in the cafeteria for a while. That was our exciting night. And considering how much I usually hate dances, I’m not too upset that we didn’t actually go. In fact, I danced for joy the whole way home.

Leave a Reply

