Unrealistic Expectations

I’m reading a book to prepare to studying abroad next semester. This book states over and over again how important it is to have realistic expectations and to not be too optimistic, because then you will just be disappointed and sad. I’m pretty notorious for expecting things to turn out better than is likely… or possible. So I thought I would share with you some of my most unrealistic expectations for my upcoming adventure:

  1. It would be the coolest thing in the world to meet one of the cast members of the Harry Potter series. The country seems so small in comparison to the US that I’m just bound to run into one at some point! Ok, maybe not, but a girl can dream.
  2. Similarly, several of my favorite authors are from England, and I would love to meet one of them. Probably as unlikely as the previous.
  3. I hope that I make a lot of friends very quickly and they embrace me because I’m an odd American. I’ve never been very good at making friends, and I guess being weird isn’t the best plan for making friends either. But for some reason it made sense in my head.
  4. I’m kind of hoping that when I get there I’ll just suddenly be a completely different person. It’s like a fresh start, so what’s stopping me from being exactly who I want to be? I’ll suddenly be confident and fun and lovable and everyone will want to hang out with me. This may be the most unrealistic of all, probably also the one which will cause the most problems for me.

There you have it. And you know what? I don’t think I’m going to even work on thinking realistically; it’s just too much fun dreaming.

Leave a Reply

