Commitment – Back to Blogging!

It’s just one of those things. The kind where the longer you do it or don’t do it, the harder it becomes to stop or start –respectively. You know, like eating that massive bag of chips, or not going to the gym, or doing drugs. But I am talking about blogging of course! Though, that is not to say that I haven’t been on a bit of a Halloween eating craze and avoiding the gym like the plague. Luckily however, I am not a drug addict. But I’ve been putting off blogging for months, with no reason whatsoever. I’ve even written blogs and not posted them! But the longer I go without posting, the harder it is to take that first step and open up my word document and change the font to Times New Roman (the default to “Calibri” font drives me nuts!). So here it is!

Sorry if this isn’t very entertaining. And double sorry for not posting in forever. I’m on the road to recovery. I guess I’m just one of those all or nothing kind of people. Like, I’ve written in a journal every single night for the past ten years (with only about a dozen exceptions) because I know that as soon as I say that I’m only going to write when exciting things happen that will be the end of my journaling days. I write every day, because I know it’s that or not at all. Unfortunately, I’m not willing to make that commitment to other aspects of my life. I should go to the gym every day, I should stop eating junk food, I should spend all of my free time reading instead of watching reality TV. But I’m not much of a commitment person.

Right now, as a college senior, I’m refusing to make a commitment about my future. My LSAT scores came in today, but I don’t want to commit to law school. I don’t want to commit to grad school at all, because that’s committing to a career path, and heaven forbid I ever make a decision on what I want to do with the rest of my life. I doubt I’ll ever be content in that respect. I’ll always wonder what else is out there, I’ll never be certain that I made the right choice. Hopefully, if I ever snag myself a decent man I will be able to at least commit to that!

But I have to admit that I don’t plan to commit to posting to this blog every day. I wish I would. But I don’t always do the things I know I should. But I’m going to finish this post, and I’m going to proofread it, and then I’m going to post it. Then I can get out of this rut and start posting more and more often. And just as it is harder to start after a long drought, it will also become easier the more often I post. At least life is forgiving in that way.

Leave a Reply

