Deciding What To Do After Graduation

There are moments when I panic because I feel like I’m not qualified to do anything and I’ll never be able to find a job after college. And there are moments when I panic because there are too many options and I don’t want to have to make a choice.

Right now, I’m feeling the latter. Which is a bit of a relief, because I’ve been having nightmares about going back to work at the deli. I’ve been trying to categorize my possible futures and this is what I have so far:

  • Publishing Industry (anything I could get)
  • Law School (to become an Intellectual Property lawyer)
  • Teaching (preferably high school English)

And then there’s the whole block of jobs that I don’t even know exist yet. I feel like when you start to grow up and thinking about careers you only think about the ones you see either in your own life or on television or in movies – fireman, astronaut, lawyer, actor, teacher, plumber, farmer, cafeteria lady, librarian, waitress, janitor, etc. But there are thousands, maybe millions (I’m awful with numbers) of other jobs. Like whoever writes the text that goes on the back of shampoo bottles (I’ve always thought that would be fun) or someone who designs the trays used in cafeterias. There is probably some random job out there that I would love. Maybe a whole bunch of random jobs I would love.

So I’ve been wondering if maybe I should stop panicking. Maybe I should just apply for EVERYTHING I can find and take what I can get and see if I like it. If I hate it then that’s one job to cross off my list, and if I love it, great! Because right now, I don’t really know what I like.

Do you struggle or have you struggled with choosing a path in life or career? Ever wondered if you’re making the right choices? I’d love to hear about it in the comment section!

6 thoughts on “Deciding What To Do After Graduation

  1. Great post – I think you really voice what a lot of us college grads are worried about. I wish you the best of luck on your job search!

    I wanted to give you one tip: I think there’s a place for applying for a lot of jobs, but I also think networking and talking to people can be very effective as well. I’d encourage you to apply to several jobs you want to work at, while also talking to people around you!

    I’m definitely no pro, but I compiled all my thoughts on this exact subject here, if you ever wanted to skim it, from one grad to another.

    Have a great day!

    http://stuffgradslike.com/2013/02/09/finding-a-job-after-college-youre-probably-doing-it-wrong/

    -Anthony

    • Thanks so much for your comment! It’s always nice to know that other people are struggling with the same thing. And you’re right, I definately need to work on networking, I’ll be sure to check out the link! Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

