Getting Excited About Writing Again

Maybe you’ve noticed (probably not) that I haven’t been posting very often for the past few months, especially since I graduated from college last month.

            So much of what I wrote was about school and being a student. I’ve been a student since I was five, and now suddenly I’m not anymore. And that’s a bit jarring. (There is an upcoming post about this… because I just wrote it. You can tell, I’m back to writing!! I will probably post it within the next few days.)

I haven’t felt inspired to write in a long time. I was trying to maintain my secondary blog (http://adviceforthealmostadult.blogspot.com/) because I put it on my resume and I wanted it to be an example of my writing skills. But I might just scrap it because I feel so guilty about not keeping up with it. Writing out of guilt does not work great for me.

But I’m excited to get back to writing about things that really matter to me. My favorite kind of writing is just rambling on about whatever is on my mind (I’m sure you can tell!). So, expect more of this!

But I also love writing fiction (hence the name of this blog, even though I don’t post fiction nearly as often as I should). So I am resuming work on my hopefully-one-day-novel.

My recent inspiration came from Twitter of all places! I saw the hashtag #JuNoWriMo – as in for NaNoWriMo, but in June! Check out the website here: http://junowrimo.com/

In case you don’t know, NaNoWriMo is basically an encouragement to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. It’s held in November, but as any college or high school student knows, there is NO time in November for novel writing. So I was super excited to for the opportunity to partake during a month that makes so much more sense for me. (Just FYI, JuNoWriMo doesn’t seem to be officially affiliated with NaNoWriMo – which is having their own event in July http://campnanowrimo.org ).

            I’m super excited to get back to blogging, and even more excited to finally finish a first draft of a real novel!! I’ll keep you posted on my progress throughout the month of June! If you’ve ever participated in NaNoWriMo or are participating in JuNoWriMo this month or Camp NaNoWriMo in July let me know! I’d love to hear about your struggles and triumphs!

Leave a Reply

